Change a User’s Access (User Management)

Please note that this tutorial article only applies to users given advanced manager permissions on Salestracker.

Advanced users can have direct control over what users on their subscription can see or do on Salestracker. This article aims to explain in-depth how to manage your users.

Selecting a User

First, go to “Preferences” in the top right on Salestracker and click on it. Users with advanced permissions will be presented with multiple tabs on the preferences page. Click on the “User Access” tab.

User Access 01

This tab asks for you to select a user. Select a user from the drop-down list and click on their name. Their details should be loaded into the tab.

Please note that names on the drop-down list highlighted in red are deactivated users who currently do not have access to Salestracker – this may be because they have left the company or no longer require a login on the system.

Changing Details

Once selected, all the information in the top of the tab relates to the user’s details and access level. You can hover over any item to get a description of what each bit means, or read below for an explanation.

Key:
* These fields are required.
~ These fields will affect the user’s ability to login – if you change them, please let the user know their new details!
^ These fields increase/decrease the user’s access to Salestracker – please be very careful with who you trust enough to grant these permissions to.

*~ Username (email address): the email address this user enters to login to the system.
* First name: the user’s first name.
* Surname: the user’s surname and/or any middle names they wish to display.
* Position: the user’s position within the company.
Direct no.: the user’s direct number (used by the support team should they ever need to contact the user directly)
~ Reset password: entering characters into this field will prompt the system to change the user’s password.
^ User level: a choice between “Standard” and “Manager”. Managers can see the information for any other user, standard users can only see information relevant to them (relationships, tasks, leads, etc.).
^ Can this user export data: ticking this box will reveal the export buttons (Excel/CSV) when the user opens a list. Unticking the box will prevent the export options from showing on lists.
^ Can this user permanently remove leads: by default no users can delete leads, ticking this box will allow the user to remove leads (they will not be required to mark them as “won/lost”, they can just remove them outright!).
^ Can this user change advanced preference settings: ticking this box will grant the user access to the advanced manager tabs, including CRM Customisation, User Access (this article) and the ability to Add Users.
~ Is this user currently active on the system: un-ticking this box will deactivate the user, revoking their Salestracker access. To grant access, ensure this box is ticked.

User Access 02

Once you have changed their details, click “Update” to save the changes. Please note that these changes will not “kick in” until the user next logs into the system – if they are currently logged in, get them to log out and in again in order to see the changes.

Changing Subscription

This section only applies if you are subscribed to any of the Insight Databases e.g. UK Fenestration, Local Builders, etc.

You may want to change which regions, products and/or sectors a given user has access to. In the bottom of the tab there will be blue rows related to the databases you are currently subscribed to. For instance, if you are subscribed to UK Fenestration and Architects & Specifiers, you will see two rows.

User Access 03

To change the user’s access to a database, click the row of the database you want to change access to. Depending on your subscription, you will see a series of tickboxes you can edit to change the user’s database access. You can alternatively just click “Select/remove all” in order to select/deselect all available items for a given database.

User Access 04

Once you are happy with the user’s access, either click the “Update” button at the underneath the database’s tickboxes or the “Update” button underneath the user details section at the top of the tab.

In Case of Errors

When clicking the “Update” button, Salestracker may prompt you with some red error text. If this is the case, follow the advice given to rectify the error and then try clicking “Update” again. The system will tell you if it has updated successfully (usually in green text).

For example, in the following image the system has generated an error as the telephone number is not in the correct format:

User Access 05